The National Aquarium and its Animal Care and Rescue Center are temporarily closed in response to COVID-19. Help support us while we are closed by Donating Today.

Black Blotched Fantail Ray

Reef Behind-the-Scenes Tour

Become an expert as you go behind the scenes in one of our reef exhibits, exploring staff-only areas and learning about the residents of a coral reef—and how you can help protect the ecosystem they rely on.

The Basics

Ages:

All participants must be at least 8 years of age to participate in this program. All guests under the age of 16 must be accompanied by a paying adult. Participants under the age of 18 must have a waiver signed by a parent or guardian in order to attend. Refunds will not be given for participants who do not meet the age requirements.

Time:

45 minutes–1 hour

Price:

General Admission $20
Members $15

Please note that members must purchase a discounted guest ticket for any tour guest who is not covered by their membership.

Getting Ready for Your Tour

  • Wear close-toed, non-slip shoes (no sandals, flip-flops, Crocs or heels).
  • Plan to arrive at least 15 minutes before the start of your tour. Check in at the Information Desk on Level 1.
  • You'll be asked to sign a waiver when you get here—save time by bringing a signed copy for each member of your group.
  • For information about discounted parking, please check aqua.org/parking. Bring your ticket to have it validated before leaving the Aquarium.
  • When booking your tour, please notify Central Reservations of any guests with special needs.

Additional Information

Cancellation/Refund Policy

Tickets are non-transferable and non-refundable, including if you miss your tour due to late arrival. If the Aquarium cancels your program, you'll have the option to reschedule or receive a full refund.

Call Ahead

To ensure that your tour hasn't been canceled due to unforeseen circumstances such as animal health or inclement weather, please call 410-576-8822 the day of your program for cancellation information.

Availability

All aspects of this tour are subject to availability.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does this tour go behind the scenes?

Yes! You'll visit behind-the-scenes areas during your tour.

Can my child participate without a parent or guardian?

A parent or guardian must accompany all participants under the age of 16. Minors 16 years of age or older may participate with a signed waiver from a parent or guardian. Parents or guardians accompanying children must be at least 18 years old. For example, a 17-year-old may attend a tour with a signed waiver, but their 10-year-old sibling may not accompany them without an adult.

Will I get to touch any animals?

Not all of the animals you'll see on your tour are available for guest interaction. We try to bring you as close to our animals as possible, but for both your safety and that of our animals, we cannot guarantee the opportunity to touch or handle an animal.

What should I wear?

You'll be traveling behind the scenes, so closed-toe, non-slip shoes are required. That means no Crocs, sandals, flip-flops or high heels. We recommend wearing comfortable clothing, as you'll be traveling around the Aquarium.

Is admission included with my tour?

No. However, this tour is an add-on to a general admission ticket, which grants you admission into the building.

Back to the Top

Tour Availability:

Monday, June 01, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Tuesday, June 02, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Wednesday, June 03, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Friday, June 05, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Saturday, June 06, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Sunday, June 07, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Monday, June 08, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Tuesday, June 09, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Wednesday, June 10, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Thursday, June 11, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Friday, June 12, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 9

Saturday, June 13, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Sunday, June 14, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Monday, June 15, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Tuesday, June 16, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Wednesday, June 17, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Thursday, June 18, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Friday, June 19, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Saturday, June 20, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Sunday, June 21, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Monday, June 22, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Tuesday, June 23, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Wednesday, June 24, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Thursday, June 25, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Friday, June 26, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Saturday, June 27, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Sunday, June 28, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Monday, June 29, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Tuesday, June 30, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Wednesday, July 01, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Thursday, July 02, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Friday, July 03, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Saturday, July 04, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Sunday, July 05, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Monday, July 06, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Tuesday, July 07, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Wednesday, July 08, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Thursday, July 09, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Friday, July 10, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Saturday, July 11, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Sunday, July 12, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Monday, July 13, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Tuesday, July 14, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Wednesday, July 15, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Thursday, July 16, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Friday, July 17, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Saturday, July 18, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Sunday, July 19, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Monday, July 20, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Tuesday, July 21, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Wednesday, July 22, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Thursday, July 23, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Friday, July 24, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Saturday, July 25, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Sunday, July 26, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Monday, July 27, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Tuesday, July 28, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Wednesday, July 29, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Thursday, July 30, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Friday, July 31, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Saturday, August 01, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Sunday, August 02, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Monday, August 03, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Tuesday, August 04, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Wednesday, August 05, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Thursday, August 06, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Friday, August 07, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Saturday, August 08, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Sunday, August 09, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Monday, August 10, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Tuesday, August 11, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Wednesday, August 12, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Thursday, August 13, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Friday, August 14, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Saturday, August 15, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Sunday, August 16, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Monday, August 17, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Tuesday, August 18, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Wednesday, August 19, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Thursday, August 20, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Friday, August 21, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Saturday, August 22, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Sunday, August 23, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Monday, August 24, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Tuesday, August 25, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Wednesday, August 26, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Thursday, August 27, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Friday, August 28, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Saturday, August 29, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Sunday, August 30, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Monday, August 31, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Tuesday, September 01, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Wednesday, September 02, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Thursday, September 03, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Friday, September 04, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Saturday, September 05, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Sunday, September 06, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Monday, September 07, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Tuesday, September 08, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Wednesday, September 09, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Thursday, September 10, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Friday, September 11, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Saturday, September 12, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Sunday, September 13, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Monday, September 14, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Tuesday, September 15, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Wednesday, September 16, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Thursday, September 17, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Friday, September 18, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Saturday, September 19, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Sunday, September 20, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Monday, September 21, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Tuesday, September 22, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Wednesday, September 23, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Thursday, September 24, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Friday, September 25, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Saturday, September 26, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Sunday, September 27, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Monday, September 28, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Tuesday, September 29, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Wednesday, September 30, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Thursday, October 01, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Friday, October 02, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Saturday, October 03, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Sunday, October 04, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Monday, October 05, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Tuesday, October 06, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Wednesday, October 07, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Thursday, October 08, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Friday, October 09, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Saturday, October 10, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Sunday, October 11, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Monday, October 12, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Tuesday, October 13, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Wednesday, October 14, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Thursday, October 15, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Friday, October 16, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Saturday, October 17, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Sunday, October 18, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Monday, October 19, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Tuesday, October 20, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Wednesday, October 21, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Thursday, October 22, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Friday, October 23, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Saturday, October 24, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Sunday, October 25, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Monday, October 26, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Tuesday, October 27, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Wednesday, October 28, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Thursday, October 29, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Friday, October 30, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12

Saturday, October 31, 2020

Time: 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12