National Aquarium - Volunteering

Animal Care Experience

Have you ever wondered how we give a 500-pound green sea turtle an exam or how we know an angelfish isn’t feeling well? Well, here’s your chance to take a look behind the scenes and see what it takes to keep more than 20,000 Aquarium residents happy and healthy. From getting a peek at the life-support systems that keep exhibits clean to discovering how our veterinary team cares for an injured turtle, you’ll get an exclusive look at how we feed, teach and care for the animals that call the National Aquarium home.

The Basics

Ages:
All participants must be at least 8 years of age to participate in this program. All guests under the age of 16 must be accompanied by a paying adult. Refunds will not be given for participants who do not meet the age requirements.

Time:
1.5-2 hours

Price (includes Aquarium admission):

General $65
Member $55

Getting Ready for Your Tour

  • Wear non-slip shoes (no flip-flops, crocs or heels)
  • Plan to arrive at least 15 minutes before your tour. Check in at our staff entrance, just around the corner from the Aquarium’s main entrance and across from the USS Torsk submarine
  • Stay late—your ticket is good for a full day of Aquarium exploration
  • You’ll be asked to sign a waiver when you get here—save time by bringing a signed copy along
  • For information on discounted parking, please check aqua.org/parking. Bring your ticket to have it validated before leaving the Aquarium
  • When booking your tour, please notify Central Reservations of any guests with special needs

Additional Information

Cancellation/Refund Policy

Tickets are non-transferable and non-refundable, including if you miss your tour due to late arrival. If the Aquarium cancels your program, you’ll have the option to reschedule or receive a full refund.

Call Ahead

To ensure that your tour hasn’t been canceled due to unforeseen circumstances such as animal health or inclement weather, please call 410-576-8822 the day of your program for cancellation information.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does my tour go behind-the-scenes?

Yes! You’ll visit behind-the-scenes areas during your tour.

How old do I have to be to go on this tour?

Because of the behind-the-scenes access, all participants must be at least 8 years old. No refunds will be given for guests who do not meet the minimum age requirements to participate.

Can my child participate without a parent or guardian?

A parent or guardian must accompany all participants under the age of 16. Minors 16 years of age or older may participate with a signed waiver from a parent or guardian. Parents or guardians accompanying children must be at least 18 years old. For example, a 17-year-old may attend a tour with a signed waiver, but their 10-year-old sibling may not accompany them without an adult.

Will I get to touch any animals?

Not all of the animals you’ll see on your tour are available for guest interaction. We try to bring you as close to our animals as possible, but for both your safety and that of our animals, we cannot guarantee the opportunity to touch or handle an animal.

What should I wear?

You’ll be traveling behind the scenes, so close-toed, non-slip shoes are required. That means no crocs, sandals, flip-flops or high heels. We recommend wearing comfortable clothing, as you’ll be traveling around the Aquarium.

Is admission included with my tour?

Yes! You’re free to explore the Aquarium during our regular hours before or after your tour. To enter the building, please use the Pier 3 Staff Entrance located directly across from the U.S.S. Torsk submarine.

Back to the Top

Book Your Tour Now:

Friday, December 14, 2018

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 8
Buy Tickets Now

Saturday, December 15, 2018

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 8
Buy Tickets Now

Sunday, December 16, 2018

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 10
Buy Tickets Now

Friday, December 21, 2018

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Saturday, December 22, 2018

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 10
Buy Tickets Now

Sunday, December 23, 2018

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Saturday, December 29, 2018

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 8
Buy Tickets Now

Sunday, December 30, 2018

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Monday, December 31, 2018

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Friday, January 04, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Saturday, January 05, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Sunday, January 06, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Friday, January 11, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Saturday, January 12, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Friday, January 18, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Saturday, January 19, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Sunday, January 20, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 7
Buy Tickets Now

Monday, January 21, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Friday, January 25, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Saturday, January 26, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Sunday, January 27, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Friday, February 01, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Saturday, February 02, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Friday, February 08, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Saturday, February 09, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Sunday, February 10, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Friday, February 15, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Saturday, February 16, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Sunday, February 17, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Monday, February 18, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Friday, February 22, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Saturday, February 23, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Sunday, February 24, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Friday, March 01, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Saturday, March 02, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Sunday, March 03, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Friday, March 08, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Saturday, March 09, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Sunday, March 10, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Friday, March 15, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Saturday, March 16, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Sunday, March 17, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Friday, March 22, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Saturday, March 23, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Sunday, March 24, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Friday, March 29, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Saturday, March 30, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Sunday, March 31, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Friday, April 05, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Saturday, April 06, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Sunday, April 07, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Friday, April 12, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Saturday, April 13, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Sunday, April 14, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Monday, April 15, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Friday, April 19, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Saturday, April 20, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Sunday, April 21, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Monday, April 22, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Friday, April 26, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Saturday, April 27, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Sunday, April 28, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Friday, May 03, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Saturday, May 04, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Sunday, May 05, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Friday, May 10, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Saturday, May 11, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Sunday, May 12, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Friday, May 17, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Saturday, May 18, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Sunday, May 19, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Friday, May 24, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Saturday, May 25, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Sunday, May 26, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Monday, May 27, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now

Friday, May 31, 2019

Time: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Quantity Available: 12
Buy Tickets Now